Managing Appointments

You can see all your available slots and appointments on the My appointments page. If you have added slots for another instructor or TA, you can view all slots from the All Appointments tab. From either page, you will be able to cancel existing appointments, delete slots, schedule appointments with individual students or a group, and send reminders to students who have not yet signed up for an appointment.

The list of slots appears in chronological order starting with the current date. It includes the Date, Start and Time, the Student(s) signed up for the slot, the Instructor assigned to the particular slot (if applicable) and the Action columns.

You will find several icons in the Action column with different functions as follows:

  •   Delete the slot
  •   Make a variety of changes to the slot including: changing the date and time (even after a student has signed up), changing the duration, assigning one or more students to the slot, and making any notes about the appointment after the fact
  •  Limits the slot to one student (or one group, where groups are enabled). When clicked, it will toggle to  , which opens the slot to unlimited students (and/or groups, where groups are enabled).
  •   Revoke, or unassign, the current student from the slot, leaving the slot open for other students. The revoke icon only appears when a slot is taken.

Scheduling a Student Appointment

Under the appointment table on the My appointments page is the Schedule by student table. This table lists students who have not yet signed up for an appointment. Note: this table will not appear if the number of students is more than 200.

  1. Click Schedule in the Action column next to the student's name and email address.
  2. If you are scheduling the student for an existing time slot, select the desired time slot from the Choose existing drop-down list. If you are rescheduling for a time outside of your posted hours, configure all the options in the Schedule a new slot box.
  3. Click Save changes to finalize the appointment.

Scheduling a Group Appointment

If you have enabled groups for the particular Scheduler activity instructors and students will be able to schedule group appointments. When a student signs up for a slot on behalf of the group, each group member's name will appear in the Student slot on the Instructor's My appointments page. All group members will receive an email alert and they will see the appointment when they access the related Scheduler activity from their respective CourseSpaces course pages.

  1. Click Schedule in the Action column next to the group for which you would like to schedule an appointment.
  2. If you are scheduling the group for an existing time slot, select the desired time slot from the Choose existing drop-down list. If you are rescheduling for a time outside of your posted hours, configure all the options in the Schedule a new slot box.
  1. Click Save changes to finalize the appointment.

Changing an Appointment

It is possible to change the time and/or date of an appointment to another existing slot or to a new time from the My appointments tab of the Scheduler activity.

  1. Click the change  icon in the Actions column next to the appointment you would like to change.
  2. Change the options as required.
  3. Click Save changes to finalize the appointment.

Cancelling an Appointment

  1. Cancelling an appointment and removing the time slot
  • In cases where you need to cancel the appointment, and you do not want other students to be able to use reuse this time slot, click the Delete  icon.
  1. Cancelling an appointment and keeping the time slot open for other students
  • In cases where you want to cancel an appointment, but you want to leave the slot open for other students to reuse, click the Revoke  icon.

Recording Appointments

To record an appointment in Scheduler, you mark the student as "seen." However, before marking the student as seen, you may want to add comments for your records and/or a grade.

  1. To make notes about the appointment, click the Change  icon in the Action column next to the student's name.
  2. Click the Seen checkbox so that a checkmark appears in the box, this will also enable students to see their grade and/or comments.
  3. Select a Grade from the drop-down list if you have enabled grades for the activity.
  4. Write any notes to share with the student in the Notes for the appointment box under their name. These may include a summary of the discussion, feedback for a particular assignment or specific tasks for the student.
  5. Click Save changes to finalize the record.