Adding TAs & Others

Adding TAsStudents officially enrolled in your course will be added (or dropped) automatically via the Banner system. However, there are times when you may wish to add Teacher Assistants (TAs), additional students, or those who are not employees of UVic, but have an 'Affiliate' Netlink ID.

You can manually add those people to your course.

Roles & Privileges

  • Instructor: Can do anything within a course, including building courses, adding resources/activities, and grading students. You may also assign TAs this role, depending on what you want them to be able to do.
  • TA Assistant: Can do anything within a course, including building courses, adding resources/activities, see and grade all students. They CANNOT backup/restore/import courses from one term to another, export grades, duplicate resources/activities, or unenrol students.
  • Non-Editing Teacher: Can teach in courses and grade students, but may not alter or add resources or activities. Has no course building capabilities.

Steps to add a user to your course

  1. Go to your course, and under the Administration block, select Users, and then Enrolled Users.
  2. A new window will appear which displays a list of those that have access to your course.
  3. On the right hand side, select the Enrol users button.
  4. A pop-up window will appear.
  5. Select the role that you would like the person assigned to. For example: Instructor or Student.
  6. Now, in the Search box, type in the person's name or V-Number (you may need to try a few variations, as people use different first names).
  7. Select the Search button.
  8. If the system was able to find the person, their name will appear. Beside their name, select the Enrol button.
  9. Finally, select Finished enrolling users.

The image below represents steps 5 through 8.

Add TA's and other users

Steps to remove a user from your course

If you have manually added a user to your course, it is possible to remove them at any time. To do this:

  1. Go to your course, and under the Administration block, select Users, and then Enrolled Users.
  2. A new window will appear which displays a list of those that have access to your course.
  3. In the list, find the person you would like to remove. In the last column, Enrolment methods, select the X for that user.
  4. A confirmation message will appear. Press Continue to remove the user from your course.