Prevent Further Posting

To prevent further student contributions to a specific forum, change the Permissions for the activity to make it "read-only."

This method of closing a forum does not hide the grade for the activity from students, and allows them to continue to read posts made before the forum closed, as reference.

  1. On your course page, click the link to the specific Forum you wish to apply these changes to. The forum page will open.
  2. With the forum page open, go to the Administration block and click Permissions (not Check Permissions). The Permissions in Forum screen will open.
  3. In the Advanced role override drop-down menu, choose Student.
  4. Under the bold heading Activity: Forum, click Prevent for the following:

      •  Reply to posts

      •  Start new discussions

Do not change any other permissions.

5. Scroll to the bottom of the list of permissions and click Save changes. Students will immediately lose their ability to post, but will still be able to read what has been posted on the forum.